Friends of The Jones Falls Letter of Support for the Woodberry Local Historic District

Dear Mr. Liebel.

I am writing on behalf of the Friends of The Jones Falls to express our strong support for the proposed Commission for Historical and Architectural Preservation (CHAP) local historic district designation for Woodberry. 

The Friends of The Jones Falls stands with the many community members who have shown and continue to show support for the full boundaries of the district as presented at the first hearing. 

Woodberry is a special place worthy of preservation, from the original mill village developed on Clipper Road in the 1840s, to the booming industrial center it became in the late 19th century, and to its tremendous role during the efforts of both World Wars. Remarkably, the neighborhood’s historic fabric has remained intact and remains integral to the community’s identity today. It had an outsized role in Baltimore’s industrial history, a story that can still be seen and felt walking through the neighborhood today. Woodberry is to Maryland what Lowell is to Massachusetts. 

The Friends of The Jones Falls supports the Woodberry CHAP District because we support sustainable development that is in keeping with the historic character of the neighborhood. Woodberry deserves to be protected and the community deserves to have a voice about the future of the neighborhood. 


Sandy Sparks, President
Friends of The Jones Falls

Announcing Our Board of Directors

The Friends of the Jones Falls is proud to announce our inaugural board of directors—a diverse group of talented people representing businesses, communities, and nonprofit organizations of the Jones Falls watershed.

President – Sandy Sparks
Vice President – Mark Conway
Vice President for Membership, Partnership and Development- Dick Williams
Treasurer – Nick Lindow
Secretary – Jennifer Aiosa

Jim Campbell
Al Barry
Nathan Dennies
Nan Rohrer
David Goldman
Chris Attenborough
Katie O’Meara
Marian Glebes
Ken Rice
Doug Bothner
Mark Conway

Ex Officio
Delegate Melissa Wells
Delegate Steve Lafferty
Councilman Leon Pinkett

Committee Chairs
Communications – Nathan Dennies
Stewardship – David Goldman
Land Use: Marian Glebes and Nick Landow